Riv Performance
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The 8th Gen Riviera Resource

HomeDashboardLatest imagesSearchRiviera Questions & AnswersWrite-Ups IndexRegisterRelated LinksLog in

NO WONDER I HAD NO ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL!!!!!! (PICS!!!)

Go down 
+3
deekster_caddy
ibmoses
Natesriv
7 posters
AuthorMessage
Natesriv
Addict
Natesriv

Name : Nate
Merit : 16

NO WONDER I HAD NO ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL!!!!!! (PICS!!!) Empty
PostSubject: NO WONDER I HAD NO ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL!!!!!! (PICS!!!)   NO WONDER I HAD NO ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL!!!!!! (PICS!!!) EmptySat Jan 24, 2009 6:45 pm

Okay, finally got around to installing the ebtcm (electronic brake traction control motor) I bought off the boards here.

Went to my Meineke (the one by my house is awesome!!), and had them install it. I'm no pro, and I don't want to mess with brake lines.....

They put it in and gave me the old one. Now, a little back story here. I got a replacement ebtcm here off the boards for a great price. Since I have an engineering degree I'm naturally curious as to how stuff works. So I took it apart and looked at the innards.... very complex but clean...put it back together and put it aside for another day to have it installed.

That day was this weekend, took it to Meineke and had them install it. They gave me back my old unit.

So I figured, "why not take this one apart and see its innards???...."

So I did

this is what i discovered!!!

NO WONDER I HAD NO ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL!!!!!! (PICS!!!) Standard
The ebtcm is a motor on top of an ABS unit I believe. You have to remove some star bolts on the bottom and the motor detaches from the abs module. this also allows you to get into the abs module...this is what I saw. No evidence of brake fluid (which should be!!!) AND a crusty smelly residue on the internals