Riv Performance
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The 8th Gen Riviera Resource

HomeDashboardLatest imagesSearchRiviera Questions & AnswersWrite-Ups IndexRegisterRelated LinksLog in

Aligning my headlights

Go down 
+3
AA
Rickw
Buapo
7 posters
AuthorMessage
Buapo
Addict
Buapo

Name : Ben
Merit : 2

Aligning my headlights Empty
PostSubject: Aligning my headlights   Aligning my headlights EmptyFri Oct 15, 2010 1:16 am

I've never done this procedure before, but it seems that there are THREE alignment posts. A tiny one, and two larger ones.

My left headlight seems to have the beam aimed directly at the ground, but my right seems fine. Taking a closer look, I noticed that the left headlight's inside looked like a broken mirror, while the right side is fine.

Is the "broken mirror effect" causing my headlight to have a problem, or should it still be similar to the right side? Can this be fixed by aligning the bulbs?

Also, what does each alignment post do? If there's already a thread on this, then please direct me. The search function didn't really lead me to an acceptable answer.
Back to top Go down
Rickw
Guru

Name : Rick
Merit : 119

PostSubject: Re: Aligning my headlights   Aligning my headlights EmptyFri Oct 15, 2010 10:00 am

The procedure is in the FSM and may be mentioned in the Owners Manual as well, Although I can't be sure about the Owner's Manual.
I don't have either here at the moment, but your FSM has the best info.
When you say your left Headlight looks like a broken mirror on the inside and the right side does not, tells me there is something wrong with the internal reflector on the left one and you'll probably have to replace it to get the headlight beam to shine properly on the road.
I've never had to adjust mine as they don't go out of adjustment on there own.