Riv Performance
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The 8th Gen Riviera Resource

HomeDashboardLatest imagesSearchRiviera Questions & AnswersWrite-Ups IndexRegisterRelated LinksLog in

High idle and Cruise 'idle'...

Go down 
+6
turtleman
deekster_caddy
AA
Mr.Riviera
albertj
Z-type
10 posters
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
Z-type
Aficionado
Z-type

Name : Andrew Zamiska
Merit : 63

High idle and Cruise 'idle'... Empty
PostSubject: High idle and Cruise 'idle'...   High idle and Cruise 'idle'... EmptyTue Jun 21, 2011 11:33 pm

Hi guys...this is a post copied from my post over at pontiacbonnevilleclub.com. I know you guys are very knowledgeable and I know someone will come up with something!

I have a '00 SSEi with a 180 degree thermostat and AL605 spark plugs, and Intense FWI. No other mods. The problem started this morning when I started the car. Idled normal for about 10 seconds then idle jumped from 1000 to ~1500. Weird. So I let it sit for 30 seconds or so and it came down to 1200. I got on the road because I had to get to work, and the car coasted at high enough an RPM that the car was actually accelerating itself on flat surfaces (35 mph, 3rd gear, 1700 RPM). No engine light. dunno

So I stopped about 2 miles from my house seeing this was a problem, popped the hood and heard no obvious leaks or anything visually awry. I shut off the car, started it back up, everything operated perfectly.

After work (10 hour shift), car did the same thing...idle started fine and popped up to 1500. I shut off the car and started it again and it was fine all the way home.

I did have my scanner with me the entire time but didn't think to plug it in. I know you guys probably need more information (from the scanner) and will be glad to provide what I can, though my scanner is limited in what I can view.

Thanks for your help everyone!

-Andrew Z