HomeDashboardFAQSearchRiviera Questions & AnswersWrite-Ups IndexRegisterRelated LinksMemberlistLog in

Share | 
 

 Need an opinion on Wheel trade/purchase

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
LARRY70GS
Aficionado
avatar

Name : Larry
Age : 61
Location : Oakland Gardens, NY
Joined : 2007-01-23
Post Count : 1517
Merit : 105

PostSubject: Need an opinion on Wheel trade/purchase   Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:13 am

I have a co-worker that has a Riviera with the chrome wheels. They are in great condition. He has tires with the brand name Aurora, that are also in great condition. I would like to buy the wheels from him. He will only sell them if we exchange our wheels/tires. I have the standard painted Riviera wheels in good shape with Kumho Ecsta ASX tires. My tires have about 60% tread life on them. He wants my wheels/tires plus cash. What do you guys think is a fair price? I'm not sure and need some suggestions. I don't want to low ball him or cheat him, but I don't want to get bent over either.

_________________
98 Riviera SC3800  All stock except gutted air box.
1970 Buick GS455 Stage1, TSP built 470BBB, 602HP/589TQ
Best MPH, 116.06 MPH, Best ET, 11.54
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UHCda-t_Jls
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sfT2tEO4XcU
Back to top Go down
AA
Administrator
avatar

Name : Aaron
Age : 40
Location : C-bus, Ohio
Joined : 2007-01-13
Post Count : 18310
Merit : 239

PostSubject: Re: Need an opinion on Wheel trade/purchase   Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:37 am

The Aurora tires are a German tire brand from what I've read. I have no idea the quality, but they are not an expensive tire. Examine or ask for the tires' date code and model number. The last two numbers in the date code are the year of manufacture (5 years old is too old). Based on the model of tire, the Auroras could be an economy, performance, or touring tire. Make sure you research and get the tire that matches what you are looking for. Otherwise take a loss and replace with new rubber that provides what you need. My opinion is that tires are such an important component, I would try using the Auroras, but replace at the earliest signs of trouble or dissatisfaction with performance.

I am wondering why he wants to let go of the chromes. One reason could be they may be leaking air around the bead seals. The chromed aluminum option had common problems in this area, due to oxidation/pitting around the inside edge of the rim. Not saying it's the only reason, but it could very well be one reason he doesn't want to remove the tires from the rims. You may want to ask him straight if he's ever had trouble with holding air pressure.

If there is a problem with leaking, a good tire pro can grind away the corrosion and reseal the bead. You want to be sure to only use moist-free air to fill the tire (nitrogen would be a very good idea here). The problem with just using air from any old tank is that it is sometimes"wet", which introduces moisture inside the tire, causing the corrosion to come back, imo.

Don't reject the wheels just because there turns out to be a leakage issue. A good tire pro can deal with the issue and create a tire/wheel combo that lasts for years of leak-free service. Just ask the seller, and possibly it could give you some leverage to buy for a lower price. Good luck.

_________________
'98 SC Riviera • 268k miles • 298 HP/370 TQ • 0-60: 5.79s • ET: 13.97 @ 99.28 • 4087 lb • 20.1 avg MPG • Nelson Ledges Lap: 1:30
3.4" pulley • AL104 plugs • 180Ί t-stat • FWI w/K&N • 1.9:1 rockers • OR pushrods • LS6 valve springs • SLP headers • ZZP fuel rails
KYB GR2 struts • MaxAir shocks • Addco sway bars • UMI bushings • GM STB • Enkei 18" EV5s w/ Dunlop DZ101s • F-body calipers
EBC bluestuff/Hawk HP plus • SS lines • Brembo slotted discs • DHP tuned • Aeroforce • Hidden Hitch


'05 GTO • 49k miles • 0-60: 4.8s • 16.9 avg MPG • Nelson Ledges Lap: 1:26
Because fun
Back to top Go down
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/657082/4
LARRY70GS
Aficionado
avatar

Name : Larry
Age : 61
Location : Oakland Gardens, NY
Joined : 2007-01-23
Post Count : 1517
Merit : 105

PostSubject: Re: Need an opinion on Wheel trade/purchase   Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:57 am

Thanks Aaron. Yes, I am aware of that issue with the chrome wheels. It was the first thing I asked him. He assured me that they do not leak at all. He actually bought another Riviera, a 96, that had these wheels on it. He transferred them to his driver, a 95 Riviera. The 95 is solid, but the paint is shot completely. He has seen my car, and knows that my car would look awesome with these wheels. Again, I would like to buy them from him, but I don't want to get bent over. Being that i am giving him my wheels/tires in exchange, I offered him 200.00. He felt this was too low. I am willing to go higher, but I am unsure how much more. That is why I am asking for a few opinions. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

_________________
98 Riviera SC3800  All stock except gutted air box.
1970 Buick GS455 Stage1, TSP built 470BBB, 602HP/589TQ
Best MPH, 116.06 MPH, Best ET, 11.54
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UHCda-t_Jls
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sfT2tEO4XcU
Back to top Go down
AA
Administrator
avatar

Name : Aaron
Age : 40
Location : C-bus, Ohio
Joined : 2007-01-13
Post Count : 18310
Merit : 239

PostSubject: Re: Need an opinion on Wheel trade/purchase   Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:20 pm

I think that's a fair offer, considering you could buy a set of brand new aftermarket chrome wheels starting at about $600. They wouldn't include tires, but new wheels... your car could look awesome with 17 or 18 rims, too!

(I think the chromes looked good on the Riv for a time, but they do date the car. Larger rims make it look about 10-15 years newer, and firm up the ride a bit. Only downside is, you'll pay more for good tires.)


_________________
'98 SC Riviera • 268k miles • 298 HP/370 TQ • 0-60: 5.79s • ET: 13.97 @ 99.28 • 4087 lb • 20.1 avg MPG • Nelson Ledges Lap: 1:30
3.4" pulley • AL104 plugs • 180Ί t-stat • FWI w/K&N • 1.9:1 rockers • OR pushrods • LS6 valve springs • SLP headers • ZZP fuel rails
KYB GR2 struts • MaxAir shocks • Addco sway bars • UMI bushings • GM STB • Enkei 18" EV5s w/ Dunlop DZ101s • F-body calipers
EBC bluestuff/Hawk HP plus • SS lines • Brembo slotted discs • DHP tuned • Aeroforce • Hidden Hitch


'05 GTO • 49k miles • 0-60: 4.8s • 16.9 avg MPG • Nelson Ledges Lap: 1:26
Because fun
Back to top Go down
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/657082/4
1998 Riv
Expert
avatar

Name : Dave
Age : 57
Location : In The AZ Oven
Joined : 2007-01-17
Post Count : 4502
Merit : 44

PostSubject: Re: Need an opinion on Wheel trade/purchase   Tue Oct 18, 2011 4:23 pm

I wouldn't go more than $200, but that's me.
Back to top Go down
71stagegs
Member
avatar

Name : steve
Age : 64
Location : L.I NY
Joined : 2008-03-09
Post Count : 89
Merit : 0

PostSubject: Re: Need an opinion on Wheel trade/purchase   Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:56 pm

I have had 3 of these cars and I put chrome wheels on all of them.When the cars were 6-10 years old I would pay 75-85 dollars a wheel.Now that these cars are dated I think you are being very fair.Anyone doing a riv now will be putting 18-20" wheels on.These are not 67 corvette rims.
Back to top Go down
ghpcnm
Aficionado
avatar

Name : Dave
Age : 65
Location : FLORIDA / The Stand Your Ground State
Joined : 2011-02-21
Post Count : 2039
Merit : 23

PostSubject: Re: Need an opinion on Wheel trade/purchase   Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:15 pm

Very fair offer...Ask him what he has in mind
Back to top Go down
http://www.americantorque.com/page/0/1189/
LARRY70GS
Aficionado
avatar

Name : Larry
Age : 61
Location : Oakland Gardens, NY
Joined : 2007-01-23
Post Count : 1517
Merit : 105

PostSubject: Re: Need an opinion on Wheel trade/purchase   Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:07 am

ghpcnm wrote:
Very fair offer...Ask him what he has in mind


Yes, I've done that also. I told him to think about it, and get back to me.

_________________
98 Riviera SC3800  All stock except gutted air box.
1970 Buick GS455 Stage1, TSP built 470BBB, 602HP/589TQ
Best MPH, 116.06 MPH, Best ET, 11.54
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UHCda-t_Jls
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sfT2tEO4XcU
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Need an opinion on Wheel trade/purchase   

Back to top Go down
 
Need an opinion on Wheel trade/purchase
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» K1100rs rear wheel-fits k100+k75-UK
» Fitting longer studs to your VFR hub to take a car wheel
» Rear Wheel Speed Sensor
» How to tell if the front wheel is straight?
» Big wheel mini chopper

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Riviera Performance ::   General Tech :: Brakes & Suspension-
Jump to: