Riv Performance
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The 8th Gen Riviera Resource

HomeDashboardLatest imagesSearchRiviera Questions & AnswersWrite-Ups IndexRegisterRelated LinksLog in

Picked up badly neglected '99, need direction on everything

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
14years
Amateur

Name : Dave
Merit : 0

Picked up badly neglected '99, need direction on everything Empty
PostSubject: Picked up badly neglected '99, need direction on everything   Picked up badly neglected '99, need direction on everything EmptyFri Mar 13, 2015 3:20 pm

Hey guys. This is Dave in Charleston, SC. Just picked up a badly neglected '99 Riv for practically free. I am a mechanical engineer and longtime shadetree mechanic, and no stranger to pulling needy cars back from the brink, but this thing is a mess and I'm not even sure where to begin.

The good:
Engine runs strong, drives great, free of knocks and leaks (except valve covers)... 135k miles
Body is mostly free of rust, mild surface rust at base of B (?) pillars
Do not believe it's ever been wrecked

The meh:
Transaxle replaced 60k miles ago (PO accidentally threw it in reverse on the interstate.. no joke)

The ugly:
Seemingly a million electrical gremlins
Fusebox melted at AC and Horn fuses, so neither works (PO said alarm was going off intermittently, so he yanked fuses)
Power locks not working at all
Keyfob not working and only one set of keys
Passenger power window switch not working
Sunroof collapsed in and making gear-grinding noise-- is there a rebuild kit somewhere?
Trunk full of water--- sunroof issue?
Appears to be parasitic drain on battery. It is dated 2007, but it was holding a charge fine until parked 4 months ago.
No front brakes at all-- rears are trying their best-- Planning front rotors and ceramic pads, any suggestions?
Interior filthy and carpet trashed
Drivers door panel hanging loose for some reason