Riv Performance
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The 8th Gen Riviera Resource

HomeDashboardLatest imagesSearchRiviera Questions & AnswersWrite-Ups IndexRegisterRelated LinksLog in

95Riv, FI,SC: Engine Problems began suddenly!

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
DKWagner
Special
DKWagner

Name : Don Wagner
Merit : 0

95Riv, FI,SC: Engine Problems began suddenly! Empty
PostSubject: 95Riv, FI,SC: Engine Problems began suddenly!   95Riv, FI,SC: Engine Problems began suddenly! EmptySun Oct 02, 2011 9:17 am

1995 Buick Riviera, 3.8 Fuel Injected, Super-Charged, 150K-miles
First of all, I am not a mechanic, I'm a 66 year old, unemployed programmer.
* Car had begun to suffer from oddities under acceleration for several months
during which time, fuel injection additive seemed to help.
* GARAGE installed new double-platinum plugs & both serpentine belts were installed
and the 95RIV ran 'great' for 7-weeks before the problem abruptly began
after an otherwise smooth 20 minute trip to the dentist.
When leaving 2 hours later, on start up the engine immediately had serious problems
which I thought were due to a defective tension idler pulley.
* Replaced both tension idler pulleys, with no improvement.
* Rough idle in park or neutral, but idle smoothes out above 1000rpm
* Under load, bogs down with no power and can't decide what gear to shift into...
but smoothed out going down hill or on the level.
* Super-charger pulley bearings make noise at slow idle.
* Intermittent Traction Control Light may simply be a loose 'ignition switch assembly'
that has been an issue since being replaced three years ago. (maybe a loose hard to get at connector)

FINALLY, here are the scanned codes and prices over the phone from a local parts house.
Codes Retrieved by Equus-3120 Scanner AZone retail prices
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
po342-cam sensor $ 34.00