Riv Performance
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The 8th Gen Riviera Resource

HomeDashboardLatest imagesSearchRiviera Questions & AnswersWrite-Ups IndexRegisterRelated LinksLog in

96 Riv ignition Fault Issue

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Rodman
Amateur

Name : Rod
Merit : 0

96 Riv ignition Fault Issue Empty
PostSubject: 96 Riv ignition Fault Issue   96 Riv ignition Fault Issue EmptySun Sep 26, 2010 7:12 pm

Hello guys,

|I am having a bit of a problem with my 1996 3.8 supercharged Series II riv. i just bought it after driving an 83 Regal for the last 6 years. I like the buicks. I am new to fuel injection and am stumped on this problem.

I have run a snap on scanner on it, and it shows the car has "Ignition mode: yes", which from my understanding means the Ignition control module is controlling the timming of the engine at 10 degrees (should read Ignition mode: no, which it reads when the key is on, but turns to yes when car is running). It is suppose to have the Power control module (PCM) controlling the timming but their is a igntion fault that I cannot track down.

The service engine light is not on, and their is no codes present. I have entered the following codes to test, but they show no history of ever occuring;
P1350
P1361
P1374
P0341
P0336

Any guidence would be appreciated.

thanks,

Rod

Back to top Go down
Abaddon
Expert
Abaddon

Name : Scott
Merit : 185

PostSubject: Re: 96 Riv ignition Fault Issue   96 Riv ignition Fault Issue EmptySun Sep 26, 2010 7:48 pm

Not quite sure what you're looking for, but here's the schematic for the ICM.
96 Riv ignition Fault Issue IC

Codes P1350 & P1361 will set if there is a problem with CKT 423 (Wht) and CKT 424 (Tan/Blk).

Is the car running funny? Is it stalling randomly?