Riv Performance
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The 8th Gen Riviera Resource

HomeDashboardLatest imagesSearchRiviera Questions & AnswersWrite-Ups IndexRegisterRelated LinksLog in

Z-type's Tune Thread

Go down 
+4
Abaddon
matt270avian
AA
Z-type
8 posters
Go to page : 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
AuthorMessage
Z-type
Aficionado
Z-type

Name : Andrew Zamiska
Merit : 63

Z-type's Tune Thread Empty
PostSubject: Z-type's Tune Thread   Z-type's Tune Thread EmptyWed Jan 21, 2015 10:08 pm

Heeeey everyone!

I figured that even though it's early in the process, I'd start my tuning thread! I'm extremely new at this (just started today, in fact) and I know I'm really going to be relying on the input and advice from everyone.

Some background:
I got a DHP software and hardware package from a member here on the board several months ago and just hooked it up to my computer today. As most with DHP, I had to fuss with the setup for a little bit before it would communicate with my PCM. I was able to read my PCM and 'download' it onto my laptop, take the laptop away and edit it a bit and explore the tables and the program.

So far, I have changed the fan settings to come on earlier with my 180 degree thermostat, and raised my idle to 700 in gear (because solid front mount - touching the gas a little to get it to 700 on my own seemed to help, I figured adding it to the tune couldn't hurt) .

I suppose my main goals are really to make the transmission do what I want it to do. It's a mostly mushy Buick transmission. I do have a modified ZZP shift kit in it and it's quite nice but I know it can be better. I have studied Aaron's and Scott's shift pressure and shift time tables so i think I know what I want to do there. I also want to get rid of TC lockup in 3rd gear altogether.

Just from reading and poking around in the tables all of this sounds pretty harmless and mostly easy.