Riv Performance
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The 8th Gen Riviera Resource

HomeDashboardLatest imagesSearchRiviera Questions & AnswersWrite-Ups IndexRegisterRelated LinksLog in

Ok i've searched enough, time to post...

Go down 
+4
AA
ibmoses
Mr.Riviera
charged95riv
8 posters
AuthorMessage
charged95riv
Rookie

Name : Steve
Merit : 0

Ok i've searched enough, time to post... Empty
PostSubject: Ok i've searched enough, time to post...   Ok i've searched enough, time to post... EmptySun Jul 05, 2009 6:44 pm

Ok so to start i have a slight miss at idle on a 95 sc riviera fresh plugs wires coils rebuilt s/c LIM gaskets (GM and their plastic gaskets...). I'm a mechanic but am having trouble with this one. I put the car in gear and hit the gas the rpms increase to 2-2.5k and then its starts missing and pinging and it starts to retard the timing it will not go past 3000rpm i don't know wat else to try. i've searched these forums all weekend to try and locate the problem to no avail...

Any help is much appreciated ty ahead of time -Steve
Back to top Go down
Mr.Riviera
Expert
Mr.Riviera

Name : Matthew
Merit : 101

PostSubject: Re: Ok i've searched enough, time to post...   Ok i've searched enough, time to post... EmptySun Jul 05, 2009 6:55 pm

hi welcome to the forum!

do you have any SES light? if so let us know what it is.
it sounds like a misfire under load to me, and if you have already replaced the plugs,wires and coils you might want to look into the MAF sensor.
first try unplugging it to see if the problem gets worse or stays the same. it may just need a cleaning, or you may need a new one.

Back to top Go down
ibmoses
Aficionado
ibmoses

Name : Bert
Merit : 32

PostSubject: Re: Ok i've searched enough, time to post...   Ok i've searched enough, time to post... EmptySun Jul 05, 2009 7:02 pm

Greetings!

How about the catalytic converter being stopped up?

Bert tavis
Back to top Go down
charged95riv