Riv Performance
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The 8th Gen Riviera Resource

HomeDashboardLatest imagesSearchRiviera Questions & AnswersWrite-Ups IndexRegisterRelated LinksLog in

brake fluid leak---master cylinder or booster?

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
nvsteve
nvsteve

Name : Steve
Merit : 3

brake fluid leak---master cylinder or booster? Empty
PostSubject: brake fluid leak---master cylinder or booster?   brake fluid leak---master cylinder or booster? EmptySun Nov 30, 2014 3:14 pm

I have a leak where the master cylinder bolts to the booster. Is there a way to determine which of the two is faulty? I'm thinking its the master cylinder.

I also need four rotors and brake pads, mechanic's estimate is $800 which seems like a lot to me but I'm gettin' too old to do the work myself. Also needs tires soon.

95SC has 125k miles on it, has been a good car for three years. I'm second owner, had 90k on it when I bought it for $3k. I've replaced the SC coupler, EGR, and had the steering column wobble repaired. Also replaced air shocks, and had a complete tune-up at 90k miles.

The car is totally stock and all the accessories work. Interior and body are perfect.

My dilemma now is whether to spend money on needed repairs/tires (about $1500) or sell the car for $2k and get something with AWD which would be nice where I live in Northern Nevada.

If I do the work and keep it I'll be into the car about $6k total which is ok except I wonder how much more stuff is about to go wrong.

I just missed out on a 98SC Riv with 42k miles for $5200.
Back to top Go down
Abaddon
Expert
Abaddon

Name : Scott
Merit : 185

brake fluid leak---master cylinder or booster? Empty
PostSubject: Re: brake fluid leak---master cylinder or booster?   brake fluid leak---master cylinder or booster? EmptyMon Dec 01, 2014 8:28 am