Riv Performance
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The 8th Gen Riviera Resource

HomeDashboardLatest imagesSearchRiviera Questions & AnswersWrite-Ups IndexRegisterRelated LinksLog in

Quick question about headlights

Go down 
+7
deekster_caddy
High Chaparral
matt270avian
Abaddon
charlieRobinson
AA
manofmany
11 posters
AuthorMessage
manofmany
Addict

Name : manofmany
Merit : 5

Quick question about headlights Empty
PostSubject: Quick question about headlights   Quick question about headlights EmptyMon Nov 28, 2011 7:21 pm

It's late, rainy, and cold so I can't easily go out and look. Coming home I noticed both of my brights are burnt out as I rarely drive at night. I'll be doing night driving now due to daylight savings. I've been running with a hid conversion for 3 years now. Unfortunately due to placement or whatever reason, they suck in rain/snow especially at night.

Is it possible to install low beams in place of the high beam lights using the high beam harness? My initial guess is no due to voltage or plugs being different, but just want to check.
Back to top Go down
AA
Administrator
AA

Name : Aaron
Merit : 252

PostSubject: Re: Quick question about headlights   Quick question about headlights EmptyMon Nov 28, 2011 7:34 pm

Yes, you can do this, but you'll need to modify the plugs on the bulbs to fit. I think one or more of the ridges needs ground off. Info provided below. Note: most people try to do the opposite of what you are doing - fit 9005 (high beam) bulbs in 9006 (low beam) harness plug. You need to work in reverse:

http://www.suvlights.com/information.php?info_id=47

How to modify a 9005 to fit 9006

Many automakers use 2 similar bulbs: 9006/HB4 for low beams and 9005/HB3 for high beams. The standard 9006 (55W) bulb produces 1000 lumens of light while the 9005 (65W) produces 1700 lumens. With a simple modification you can convert the 9005 to fit into 9006 housings.